Le Delta de l'Okavango accueillera un festival de musique

Le Festival de musique du Delta de l'Okavango (OKMF) se tiendra en bordure du Delta de l'Okavango, sur l'île Rockston à Tsutsubega, à la fin de ce mois.

OKMF est un événement annuel de camping de trois jours, célébrant la musique africaine dans une forêt sauvage et ancienne, entourée d'une belle plaine d'inondation dans le delta.

Adrian DandridgeL'événement rassemble des musiciens et des groupes fabuleux venus de toute l'Afrique australe et d'ailleurs, ainsi que des numéros de cirque, des cercles de tambours, des danses de feu et des camps thématiques pour les résidents du Botswana et les touristes en visite. La communauté de Tsutsubega accueille l'OKMF chaque année et, en retour, reçoit des bénéfices qui améliorent les moyens d'existence des membres de la communauté et diversifient le tourisme que le Botswana peut offrir aux habitants locaux et internationaux."

L'événement apportera plus de tourisme dans les zones marginales. M. Dandridge indique que tout le monde n'a pas les moyens d'acheter des auberges cinq étoiles dans le delta, de sorte que ce nouveau type de tourisme peut amener les gens à profiter à moindre coût du tourisme musical plutôt que du tourisme safari/faune sauvage dans la région, diversifiant ainsi le tourisme dans la région au profit de la collectivité.

Des groupes locaux du Botswana sont réservés pour jouer ainsi que des groupes d'autres pays de la SADC et d'outre-mer.

Il y aura plusieurs camps thématiques sur l'île du festival. Il s'agit notamment d'un cinéma, d'un camp de yoga, de tentes de bière, de stands de nourriture, de stands de gin, de stands de gin, d'un camp de glace, d'un camp d'animation pour enfants, d'un camp de natation, de balades à dos d'âne, de bar à tequila, de cabarets, d'ateliers de percussion, de feu et d'un cirque et de disco silencieux.

Le camping est le seul hébergement fourni par OK Music Festival - autonome, standard et luxe VIP.

Il est accessible en 4×4 et l'itinéraire sera bien balisé. Des navettes sont également disponibles au départ de Maun (du Tshilli Farmstall Café, près de l'aéroport, à l'heure toutes les heures pendant les trois jours du festival). Hélicoptère Horizons offre une option de vol avec un spécial de P850 par personne de l'aéroport de Maun à l'île du Festival (10 minutes de vol) pour atterrir sur l'héliport de l'île du Festival.

Children are welcome and safety is of paramount importance. There are full-time doctors and medics on site, a helicopter for emergencies, every festival ticket price includes medical insurance for the duration of the event.

Les billets peuvent être achetés en ligne ici.

 

Author: Gaongalelwe Dinale
Published: 2 August 2018
Publication: Tourism Update
View article source ici

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Okavango Delta to host music festival

The Okavango Delta Music Festival (OKMF) will be hosted on the edge of the Okavango Delta, on ‘Rockston Island’ in Tsutsubega, at the end of this month.

OKMF is an annual three-day camping event, celebrating African music in a wild and ancient forest, surrounded by a beautiful floodplain in the delta.

Adrian Dandridge, Festival Director, says: “The event brings fabulous musicians and bands together from all over Southern Africa and further afield alongside circus acts, drumming circles, fire-dancing and theme camps for Botswana residents and visiting tourists to enjoy. The Tsutsubega community hosts the OKMF annually and, in return, receive benefits that improve the livelihoods of the community members and diversifies tourism that Botswana can offer to locals and internationals.”

The event will bring more tourism into marginal areas. Dandridge says not everyone can afford the five-star lodges in the Delta so this new kind of tourism can bring people in for less cost to enjoy music tourism rather than safari/wildlife tourism in the area, thus diversifying tourism in the area to benefit the community.

Local bands from Botswana are booked to play as well as bands from other SADC countries and overseas.

There will be several theme camps on the festival island. These include a cinema, a yoga camp, beer tents, food stalls, gin stalls, ice camp, kids’ entertainment camp, swimming spot camp, donkey cart rides, tequila bar, cabaret, drumming circles, fire-acts, circus acts and a silent disco.

Camping is the only accommodation provided at the OK Music Festival – self-sustainable, standard and VIP luxury.

It can be reached by 4×4 and the route will be well signposted. Shuttle game-drive vehicles are also available leaving Maun (from the Tshilli Farmstall Café, near the airport, on the hour every hour over the three days of the festival. Helicopter Horizons is offering a fly-in option with a special of P850 per person helicopter flight from Maun airport to the Festival Island (10-minute flight) to land on the festival island helicopter pad.

Children are welcome and safety is of paramount importance. There are full-time doctors and medics on site, a helicopter for emergencies, every festival ticket price includes medical insurance for the duration of the event.

Tickets can be purchased online here.

 

Author: Gaongalelwe Dinale
Published: 2 August 2018
Publication: Tourism Update
View article source here

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos