Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Lors d'un safari en Afrique du Sud, vous ne trouverez guère de région plus fascinante que le Kgalagadi... Les lits asséchés des rivières Nossob et Auob Rivera sont toujours vides sauf si un orage les fait couler temporairement.

Malgré son aspect aride, l'eau coule sous le lit des rivières, alimentant l'herbe et les arbres clairsemés le long des rives, qui fournissent ensuite abri et nourriture à certains animaux Kgalagadi.

Le parc transfrontalier de Kgalagadi est constitué de parcs nationaux situés dans deux pays différents - l'Afrique du Sud et le Botswana. Bien que seulement un quart du parc total se trouve en Afrique du Sud, c'est toujours une destination intéressante en safari, car elle offre une vaste zone pour l'observation du gibier et les safaris en voiture.

Certaines parties du parc peuvent être atteintes par une voiture normale, mais une grande partie de la zone est sèche et instable, ce qui fait d'un safari sud-africain en 4×4 une expérience plus adaptée.

The Transfontier Park’s main goal when it was established was to protect the gemsbok, and allow them to live and breed in safety. Since then it’s grown to become a destination of choice for tourists on a South African safari who wish to witness a unique and unforgettable landscape.

Tirant son nom des Makgadikgadi Pans, avec Kgalagadi signifiant "terre de soif", le parc abrite une large sélection d'animaux sauvages tels que les lions du Kalahari, les guépards, les léopards, les hyènes, les gnous bleus, les élands, les gnous et les aigles, et bien plus. Et nos guides prennent un grand plaisir à vous montrer ces animaux, tout en vous fournissant des informations fascinantes à leur sujet pour enrichir votre safari en Afrique du Sud et vous assurer que vous avez des photos à emporter à la maison qui valent le détour !

Le parc transfrontalier du Kgalagadi souffre de conditions climatiques extrêmes, avec une chaleur élevée le jour en été et un froid extrême le jour et la nuit en hiver. En raison de ces fluctuations extrêmes, le meilleur moment pour se rendre dans la région pendant un safari en Afrique du Sud serait entre mars et mai.

Renseignez-vous sur nos safaris en Afrique du Sud, qui comprennent le Parc Transfrontalier de Kgalagadi, ou continuez à lire sur certaines des autres attractions sud-africaines que vous voudrez peut-être visiter pendant votre safari avec nous !

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park

While on a South Arica safari, you’ll hardly find a more fascinating region than the Kgalagadi… The dry rivers beds from the Nossob River and Auob Riverare always empty unless a thunderstorm causes them to flow temporarily.

Despite its arid appearance water does flow under the riverbeds, feeding that grass and sparse tress along the river banks, which then provide shelter and nourishment for some of the Kgalagadi animals.

The Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park consists of national parks found in two different countries – South Africa and Botswana. While only a quarter of the total park lies in South Africa, it’s still a worthwhile destination while on safari, as it offers a huge area for game watching and safari drives.

Some parts of the park can be reached by a normal car, but a lot of the area is dry and unstable, there making a South African safari in a 4×4 a better suited experience.

The Transfontier Park’s main goal when it was established was to protect the gemsbok, and allow them to live and breed in safety. Since then it’s grown to become a destination of choice for tourists on a South African safari who wish to witness a unique and unforgettable landscape.

Deriving its name from the Makgadikgadi Pans, with Kgalagadi meaning “thirst land”, the Park is home to a wide selection of wildlife such as the black manned Kalahari lions, cheetahs, leopards, hyenas, blue wildebeest springbok, eland, hartbeest, eagles, and many more. And our guides take a great pleasure in being able to show you these animals, while providing you with fascinating information about them to enrich your South African safari an ensure you have photos to take home that are worth showing around!

The Kgalagadi Transfontier Park suffers from extreme weather, with high heat during the day in summer and extreme cold during the day and night in winter. Because of these extreme fluctuations, the best time to travel to the area during a South African safari would be between March and May.

Read about our South African safaris that include the Kgalagadi Transfontier Park, or continue to read about some of the other South African attractions that you may want to visit during your safari with us!

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos