Big Five becomes the Big Seven

Big SevenSource:
2009 – 06 – 23

Johannesburg – South Africa’s so-called Big Five will soon become the Big Seven, when the whale and the shark are officially added to this tourist attraction, SABC news reported on Tuesday. Environmental Affairs Minister Buyelwa Sonjica said the department had decided to add the two ocean predators to the current Big Five, which are the lion, leopard, elephant, rhinoceros and buffalo, reported the public broadcaster.

The government’s news agency, Bua News, quoted Sonjica as describing this as “a very significant move for tourism as we will become the only country in the world to boast a Big Seven”. “We can offer tourists, among other things, a shark dive in Gansbaai. We will be marketing these animals – sharks and whales – to the whole world. It will have a significant impact on tourism,” she said. Sonjica said South Africa had significant numbers of species in the top ocean predators such as the shark and the whale. “On that basis we will add these two species to the Big Five and then have a resultant Big Seven.”

Let us know what you think…

Related Tours

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Jenman African Safaris Collection