Lake Victoria, Kenia, Tansania und Uganda

Lake Victoria
Der größte Binnensee in Afrika und der größte tropische See der Welt.

Der Viktoriasee hat gemeinsame Grenzen mit Uganda, Kenia und Tansania. Er ist der größte Binnensee in Afrika und der größte tropische See der Welt. Mit einer Fläche von 68 800 km² erstreckt sich der See bis zum Horizont. Der Viktoriasee ist das Hauptreservoir des Nils.

Das Gebiet ist reich an Geschichte, Kultur und Tierwelt. Hier kann man große Scharen von Flusspferden, Sumpfmangusten und den afrikanischen Klauenotter finden. Nilkrokodile bewohnen die Gewässer in großer Zahl, und auch die Helmschildkröte ist hier zu Hause. Der See wird von einer beeindruckenden Vogelwelt gesäumt, die am Nordufer in der Mabamba-Bucht unter anderem den berühmten Schuhschnabel beherbergt.

Eingebettet in ein uraltes Becken, teilt der See seine Inselgruppen mit den drei angrenzenden Ländern. Diese Gebiete mit ihren insgesamt 3000 bewohnten Inseln beherbergen eine reiche Vielfalt an Wildtieren und Menschen.

Reiseziele

Lake Victoria, Tanzania and Uganda

Lake Victoria

Lake Victoria shares its borders with Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania. It is the largest inland lake in Africa and largest tropical lake in the world. With an area of 68 800 km sq, the lake stretches to the horizon. Lake Victoria is the main reservoir of the river Nile.

The area is rich in history, culture as well as wildlife. One may find big pods of hippo, marsh mongoose and the African clawless otter. Large numbers of Nile crocodile patrol its waters, as well as home to the helmeted turtle. The lake is fringed by an impressive riverine birdlife, inhabited by the iconic shoebill, among others, on the northern shore in Mabamba Bay.

Nestled in an ancient basin, the lake shares its archipelagos with its three bordering countries. These areas are home to a rich variety of wildlife as well as people, with a total of 3000 inhabited islets.

Newsletters Subscribe
Sign up for travel inspiration, exclusive offers and breaking travel news.
ENQUIRE NOW

US and Canada 1866 487 4323
United Kingdom 0871 284 5010
Within SA 0861 JENMAN
Australia 1800 140 835
India +91 22 24948099
Rest of World +27 21 683 7826

RECENT REVIEWS